Ad Code

Responsive Advertisement

SSC CHSL Exam Pattern

 There are different stages that candidates need to qualify to get selected for various posts in SSC CHSL exam. The Recruitment for SSC CHSL 2020 exam will start from November 2020. In the meantime, check the highlights of  current SSC CHSL recruitment i.e. for the year 2019 given below:  

The overall highlight of SSC CHSL Exam Pattern topic-wise breakdown is as mentioned below:

SSC CHSL Exam Pattern
TierType/Mode of examTopics
Tier IComputer-BasedEnglish Language, General Intelligence, Quantitative Aptitude, General Awareness
Tier IIDescriptive PaperLetter/Application Writing, Essay Writing
Tier IIISkill TestSpeed Typing Test adjudged on the correct entry of data

SSC CHSL Exam Pattern Tier I

As already mentioned above, the SSC CHSL Tier I is a computer-based exam conducted online. Candidates are given a total of 60 minutes to solve SSC CHSL Tier I paper comprising 100 questions that count to a total of 200 marks (2 marks each question). For each wrong attempt, candidates are penalised with 1/2 marks i.e. 0.50 marks which were 0.25 marks in the previous year recruitments.

Note* – the time limit of 60 minutes to complete the SSC CHSL Tier I examination is extended by 20 minutes i.e. total 80- minutes are given to PwD candidates.

The Tier I of SSC CHSL exam covers questions based on the following sections:

  • Reasoning Ability
  • Quantitative Aptitude
  • General Awareness
  • English Language

The SSC CHSL Tier I Exam Pattern is Summarised below:

SSC CHSL Exam Pattern Tier I
Sections/SubjectsNumber of Questions each sectionMaximum MarksTime Duration
General Awareness255060 minutes (80 Minutes for PwD candidates)
Reasoning/General Intelligence2550
English Language (Basic Knowledge)2550
Quantitative Aptitude (Basic Arithmetic Skill)2550

SSC CHSL Exam Pattern Tier II

Candidates who qualify Tier I exam are called to appear for SSC CHSL Tier II. The Tier II of SSC CHSL Exam assesses the English/Hindi writing skills of candidates, which is why it is a descriptive type of test. The questions asked in the Tier II paper are based on 10th standard concepts.

The written test of SSC CHSL Tier-II comprises an Essay writing of 200-250 words and Application/Letter writing of 150-200 words. The minimum marks that candidates need to attain in Tier-II exam is 33%.

The SSC CHSL Tier-II test is of 100 marks and the total time allowed to candidates for completing the test is 60 minutes (80 minutes for candidates who are visually handicapped or suffer from cerebral palsy).

SSC CHSL Exam Pattern Tier III

The SSC CHSL Tier III comprises a couple of skill tests which candidates need to qualify to get selected to certain government posts. The final merit list of candidates selected for the CHSL exam is prepared after this skill test. The skill test for SSC CHSL includes:

  • Typing test for 15 minutes duration in which candidate must have the speed to write 35 words per minute (English Medium) and 30 words per minute (Hindi Medium). 
  • For VH – visually handicapped candidate (40% disabled), 30 minutes is provided for this test. 

SSC CHSL exam pattern – Salient points

Salient points regarding the SSC CHSL Exam Pattern are:

  1. SSC CHSL Tier I is an objective type paper conducted only in online mode. Tier I has 100 questions of 2 marks each to be completed in 60 minutes. Candidates will lose 0.50 marks for every wrong answer.
  2. SSC CHSL Tier-II is a descriptive exam conducted in Pen and Paper mode only for the candidates who qualified Tier I. There is no negative marking for wrong attempts in SSC CHSL Tier-II Exam. Candidates must secure a minimum of 33% marks to clear Tier II of SSC CHSL Exam. 
  3. SSC CHSL Tier III is a skill test for Data Entry Operator and typing test for various posts such as PA/SA, LDC and Court Clerk. Tier II of SSC CHSL Exam is qualifying in nature. The Final Merit is prepared based on the scores obtained in Tier I and Tier II only.  


एक टिप्पणी भेजें

0 टिप्पणियाँ